Maharaj and Khaka receives big wins at the CSA awards

The SA Men’s and SA Women’s Cricketers of the Year for 2021–2022, respectively, have been named Keshav Maharaj and Ayabonga Khaka. The announcement was made at the awards ceremony for Cricket South Africa (CSA), which was essentially held on Sunday night. The SA Men’s and SA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year honours went to Maharaj and Khaka, who were also chosen as favorites by their teammates.

Aiden Markram won the T20 International Player of the Year award, Janneman Malan won the One-Day International Player of the Year award, and Kagiso Rabada won the Test Player of the Year title for men. Mitchell van Buuren was awarded the domestic newcomer of the season, and Marco Jansen was named the international newcomer of the year.

Lizelle Lee, the Momentum Women’s T20 International Player of the Year, and Laura Wolvaardt, the Momentum Women’s One-Day International Player of the Year, were notable winners in the women’s categories. Simon Harmer won the title for The Best Delivery Fuelled by KFC, chosen by the fans, for his dismissal of Najmul Hossain Shanto in the first Test match between Bangladesh and South Africa in Durban.

David Miller won the SA Fans’ Player of the Year award. After an exciting white-ball season, Miller was the crowd favorite when voting was completed on the CSA app. Nonkululeko Mlaba received the Makhaya Ntini Power of Cricket Award, which honors those who have used their talent to improve their circumstances and recognizes their tenacity, fervor, and tremendous pride. Sisanda Magala, who received three awards, was the night’s largest domestic winner. He received the SACA Most Valuable Player Award, Domestic Players’ Player of the Season, and Division 1 One-Day Cup Player of the Season awards.

In the amateur divisions, Boland’s Nathan Engelbrecht won the CSA Rural Cricket Player of the Year award as well as the T20 Community Cup Player of the Tournament. Tazmin Brits won the CSA Women’s Provincial Player of the Year award.

CSA CEO Pholetsi Moseki congratulated all the winners. “The players have endured a lot during the past two years as the Covid-19 pandemic challenged the conditions of our game. Our teams’ tenacity is seen in the improvement of our national teams and the opportunities our pipeline continues to provide nationwide,” Moseki said.

“A big thank you to our umpires, grounds staff, and scorers, who ensured that CSA delivers another fantastic season. Our gratitude goes out to our sponsors and partners who have stood beside us in these challenging economic times. Your support has helped us keep our cricket and pipeline programs thriving. We look forward to the upcoming action-packed season as South Africa gets to host the inaugural ICC Women’s T20 World Cup and the ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup in 2023. We will also host the inaugural star-studded Twenty20 competition, a first on the African continent.”

The CSA board chair, Lawson Naidoo, stated that this season vindicated the CSA’s new two-division domestic structure, which provided a thrilling variety of cricket in South Africa.

“We have seen our athletes giving their best in the field of play, spectacles that assured us that talent and skill are plentiful in our set-ups,” Naidoo said.

“On behalf of the board of Cricket South Africa, I congratulate all the winners today. Congratulations also go out to all the nominees as these awards are a candid reflection of why cricket is such a powerful agent of change.”


  • KFC MINI-CRICKET COACH OF THE YEAR – Jerry Thulo (Lions Cricket)
  • CSA BOYS U16 PLAYER OF THE TOURNAMENT – Riley Norton (Boland)
  • CSA GIRLS U16 PLAYER OF THE TOURNAMENT – Mpumelelo Mashiloane (Easterns)
  • CSA GIRLS U19 PLAYER OF THE TOURNAMENT – Elandri Janse van Rensburg (North West)
  • CSA U19 PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Dewald Brevis (Titans Cricket)
  • CSA BLIND CRICKET PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Buhle Bhidla (Lions Cricket)
  • CSA DEAF CRICKET PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Arthur Mcgee (Titans Cricket)
  • CSA RURAL CRICKET PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Nathan Engelbrecht (Boland)
  • T20 COMMUNITY CUP PLAYER OF THE TOURNAMENT – Nathan Engelbrecht (Boland)
  • WOMEN’S PROVINCIAL COACH OF THE YEAR – Wynand Schmitt (Senwes Dragons)
  • KEMACH EQUIPMENT GROUNDSMAN OF THE YEAR – Bryan Bloy – SuperSport Park Centurion
  • CSA WOMEN’S PROVINCIAL PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Tazmin Brits (Senwes Dragons)

ALSO READ :Former proteas captain to serve as T20 commissioner 

Leave a Comment