12th annual Radio Awards rewards broadcasters

At the famous 2022 Radio Awards gala dinner on Saturday, the radio industry in SA was in full form. The Radio Awards, now in their 12th year are South Africa’s most prestigious radio broadcast awards, honoring both the personalities behind the microphone and those working behind the scenes to provide the best possible radio. In the Campus, Community, Public Broadcast Service (PBS), Commercial Licensing, podcast, and Internet Radio section this year, 91 wins were awarded in 30 categories.

South African comedian Loyiso Madinga was a master of ceremonies for the awards ceremony, the event was held at The Empire Conference and Events Venue in Parktown, Johannesburg.The Radio Awards celebrate and honor extraordinary and cutting-edge excellence in the South African radio industry. It establishes a standard that all radio stations and industry experts should aim for. This program is committed to justice and ethics and strives to be a trustworthy, wise, and open program.


Record votes

More than 1.1 million MyStation votes from radio listeners across the nation were cast for The Radio Awards in their 12th edition, which is a record. In 2021, there were just under 880,000 entries, thus this amount is higherListeners were given a chance to vote for their favorite station in the MyStation competition and won a fantastic reward. By filling out the online voting form at www.radioawards.co.za, listeners cast their votes for free.

The outcome of the voting determined the winners of two different MyStation awards: the Most Votes award, which goes to the station that receives the most online votes, and the Most Loyal Listener award, which goes to the station with the highest percentage of votes relative to its audience. From 173 radio stations and podcasters across the country, the awards program this year received more than 1,700 entries in the nomination and general categories. This amount exceeds the threshold of 1,500 entries received in 2021.

“The awards continue to go from strength to strength, and it has been fantastic to see the enthusiasm that stations have displayed this year. We are delighted about the level of industry participation, and we look forward to hosting yet another show-stopping awards event,” says Taryn Westoby, general manager of Arena Events, which manages and owns The Radio Awards.

Judging of the general category submissions by a panel of 40 judges from the broadcast and media industries got underway on June 14. BDO SA, who has been named the 2022 Radio Awards’ auditor, evaluated the results. BDO SA is a multinational company with 167 locations across the world and 1,400 employees in South Africa.

“We would like to congratulate all the winners, finalists, and talented professionals in the radio industry for their hard work, resilience, and dedication to the medium,” says Taryn Westoby, GM of Arena Events (a division of Arena Holdings) owners of the Radio Awards.

“Special thanks to the advisory board and esteemed judges for their commitment and time in listening to thousands of hours of submissions. Being able to celebrate the success of the radio industry at an in-person event once again has been a highlight,” concludes Westoby.

Biggest winners of the awards

The number of times each finalist appeared in all general category finals in 2022, together with motivational essays that discussed innovation, audience expansion, community service, and general accomplishments, as well as an individual’s “x-factor,” were used to choose the winners.

Sizwe Dhlomo (Kaya 959), Joanne Joseph (702), Simon Parkinson (Hot 102.7 FM), Rozanne McKenzie, and Rob Forbes were all knocked out for the title of “Best Drive Time Show” by Thabethe from 947. (Jacaranda FM).

“I started as a newsreader when I was 18 years old, the moment I switched from a reader to a presenter that’s when I was like: ‘wait a minute, this feels right’… that’s when I knew radio was meant for me. It’s an extension of myself which I believe I’m good at,” Thabethe said

“It’s truly an amazing feeling receiving this award. It means I am seen and recognised for the radio work that I do. I don’t think that being honoured with such an award means radio is still prominent, I believe radio is still prominent with or without the awards it’s a platform that was there before us and I think it’ll still exit even after. Radio plays a vital part in people’s lives. It reminds you if you’re late for work or on time for an important appointment… it’s there in the everyday life of a listener.”The host of the 947’s top 40, Thabethe’s coworker Mbhele, won the prize for the best music show.

The vivacious broadcaster attributed his love of radio to his mother’s encouragement to listen to it more often than watch TV.“Getting recognition from your industry peers is such an honour but I always say, if you don’t win an award, it doesn’t diminish the quality of work that a presenter produces, I am quite grateful to this industry because I have managed to build quite solid friendships and relationships through radio which I take pride in. Winning a top 40 award has always been a childhood dream of mine since listening to the likes of Brown Sugar on 5FM… being able to carve that myself is truly humbling.”Mbhele said.

DJ Keyez (Kaya 959) created history by winning the Best Music Show in a three-way tie with DJ Sabby and Mbhele (MetroFM). He has previously won prizes twice for his work on campus radio.

“I’ve been producing for the past six years and receiving an award as a presenter in the commercial space is amazing… I don’t even know how to describe this feeling. There were many people who were concerned that radio was going to be phased out due to the introduction of Twitter spaces or various podcasts, but I believe there’s always a reason to listen to radio… and I highly doubt it will be phased out anytime soon. I grew up listening to YFM and veteran broadcaster Khabzela… the defining moment was when I shadowed DJ Fresh at 5FM in 2011, I remember. leaving the station with the mindset that this is what I wanted to do and I’m glad I’m doing it.” DJ Keyez said

Jacaranda FM walked away with four awards at the 12th annual Radio Awards held in Johannesburg at the weekend.Martin Bester and his team took home the best breakfast show award for the second time in a row. This is an absolute honour and a great feeling to get this acknowledgment from my peers and our listeners our morning family as we call them,job is made so much easier by a fantastic production team and wonderful content to work with. Everyone on my team, especially our listeners, makes this show so special. I’m so grateful, I’m so humbled! The station was also named “the Angel headquarters of South Africa” for its charity work. Bester and his team also won the best commercial radio innovation. When it comes to innovation, we are so proud of the ideas and creativity we come up with, like our own kid’s band, the 942s. Our listeners helped us put the band together by choosing the members and names. We then went on to record a single with them that shot to the SA top 20. During a time when kids needed motivation and entertainment during the lockdown, innovation helped us connect again. We read the room well, and I’m sure we’ll use innovation to connect when the next challenge comes around.” said Martin Bester

Benjy Mudie, Hennie Koortzen, Mark Jennings, Nadia Bulbulia, Siphiwo Magoda, and Trish Taylor were inducted into the Radio Awards Hall of Fame. Aaron Masemola, Asakhe Ngxonono, Dylan Pepler, Mihlali Matyana, Owen Crafford, Simthande Myeza, Siphelele Nzuza, Talitha Counter and Tshegofatso Seleke were inducted as Bright Stars. Rorisang Mkhumbeni was the recipient of the Bursary Award.

ALSO READ :Dineo Ranaka-Sol-Phenduka join Kaya 959

Leave a Comment